• Share to Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Email
    • Print

May 13, 2010

Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC)

Humane Society International

The Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC) is responsible for the conservation and management of fisheries for tunas and other species, such as dolphins captured by tuna-fishing vessels, in the eastern Pacific Ocean.

Established in 1950, the IATTC currently has 16 member countries: Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Guatemala, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Perú, Spain, United States, Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

Animal protection organizations have participated in the IATTC because of the threat to dolphins. A favorite method of capturing eastern Pacific Ocean tuna, which swim beneath dolphins, is to set nets on the great marine mammals—a practice that routinely maims and kills them.

Some members of the IATTC formed the Agreement on the International Dolphin Conservation Program (AIDCP) to deal specifically with dolphin conservation.

  • Sign Up

    Join our online community

  • Take Action